Uncategorized

Tips For Getting Your First Horse


Hey guys! My name is Abby and my horses name is Edward. Since this is my first blog post I’m going to go over a few things I think everyone should know while looking for their first horse! 

1.
Know what you’re looking for, whether that be as simple as knowing the discipline or as in depth as what breed you want. 

2. Set realistic standards, this is the one that I have the most trouble with, seeing all those horses down at WEF or any other huge show can make you want those horses, so make sure that you know your budget and know that you might not get a WEF horse but still an amazing one!

 3. Be prepared, being a horse owner is a lot of responsibility. Before you get your horse make sure to have the necessary wound care equipment and a halter and lead rope and anything else you think you might need.

 4. Be ready for what lies ahead. Getting your first horse is the best feeling in the world, know that there are going to be a few bumps in the road, but it will be worth it in the end. Enjoy your journey and learn from it! 
Thank you guys for reading my first ever blog post it means a lot! Make sure to follow me on instagram @arlequestrian and make sure to give me feedback!

Much love, Abby Loucks 

Leave a comment