Uncategorized

Show Series: Rebecca Deutsch

 

Our second featured rider in our Show Series is Rebecca Deutsch a horse rider & Friend Of The Oily Stable. We ask the featured rider four important questions then they’ll add more information about their show after! 🐴🏅

1. What was your goal for this past show?

My goal for this past show was to have fun and get my horse to move out both days as he usually gets lazy by Sunday.

2. What do you do to keep yourself calm and focused before you enter the ring? 

I try to take deep breaths before I enter the ring, and then once I’m in there I stay focused over fences by repeating the course in my head (like red outside to blue inside) and on the flat by focusing on tiny individual things (like shoulders back, eyes up, heels down)
3.What’s your favorite snack to eat at a show?

I like to eat really random stuff at shows, usually really unhealthy things like Oreos or mini powdered donuts.
4.Whats your routine before you show?

The day of I usually go to the show grounds early to watch my friends ride and then get my horse ready and warm up. After warming up I either give myself or get pep talks from my friends/family reminding me why I shouldn’t be anxious.

More about my show: So on Saturday, I’m not gonna lie, I did pretty bad. According to my mom I “looked defeated” throughout most of the classes. My horse wasn’t feeling that hot and we ended up getting 3rds, 4ths, and a couple 5ths/6ths. On Sunday I changed a couple of things (mostly my mental outlook) and we did much better! (I did forget my course once but I didn’t let that ruin my day). I got a couple of 1sts, 2nds, and one or two 3rds. I even got Champion! All in all it was a pretty great show.

Leave a comment